**4:00PM CLASS TODAY OPEN TO EVERYONE.**

**Still waiting for food donations from those doing the nutrition challenge. If you are not doing the challenge and would still like to donate food please, please, please, feel free to do so.**

5 Ways To Stay Motivated

It seems every other blog or magazine has “motivational tips” this time of year: ways to keep you on the straight and narrow when all you want to do is curl up in some flannel pjs and eat mac cheese and pie while watching “Hoarders” or “Some Other Whacked People Show” until June or July.

The trouble with these tips? They’re usually bullsh**. A bunch of feel-good words that you can’t remember ten minutes after you read them. They’re literary carbs — they taste good going down but don’t fully satisfy your hunger and — guess what? — now you’re a little sleepy too.

So, instead, we’re going to give you Five No-Bullsh** Ways to Stay Motivated:

1.) Stop reading bullsh**! If it sucks, put it down! Scroll by. Life’s too short to put crap between your ears.

2.) Keep going! Go to the gym almost every day. Rest when you need to. You know that, so do it.

3.) Kick yourself in your own a**. Stop feeling sorry for yourself. “Waah waah waah. My life is hard. I’m so busy. I have so much to do.” Guess what? So does everybody else! And some people are doing their stuff with cancer or a couple of fewer limbs than you. Stop bellyaching and snap your own sh** up!

4.) Don’t hang around with losers. We’ve been over this before: you are who you spend time with. Think about it.

5.) Expect more of yourself. I first heard Denise Thomas yelling this at a trainee in an L1 seminar. They were in the middle of some horrid WOD and the dude let his form slip and squatted like a dog laying a nasty pile in the backyard. “Expect more of yourself!” He fixed his form and pressed on. So should you.

Now, I could end this with some photos of flowers and some words about love and kindness, but a group hug and a round of Kumbaya aren’t going to help you stay off the couch and your a**. Daylight is burning, baby! Stop reading and go do. Now. (courtesy of crossfitlisbeth.com)

WARM UP

500 Meter Row
3 Rounds with a barbell:
5 Toe Heal Cleans
5 Hang Cleans
5 Push Press

STRENGTH

Clean & Jerk
5×1

WOD

On the Minute for 20 Minutes:
Odd: 6 Power Snatch 105/75
Even: 6 Chest to Bar Pull-ups

About crossfit22

Trainers: Kathy Gunther 801-652-4745 Liz McBride 801-913-4096

4 responses »

  1. Joni says:

    Holy WOD that WAS FUN!!! I got this crazy little almost blister/tear so my last 2 round I did ring rows in the window-started at 75- Kat had me strip down to 65 and then somehow I ended back at 75#/..its coming to me…slowly but surely..
    Stayed and did the comp strength with Amanda…that shis was FUN/..sorry Amanda that you have such a heavy back squat and you had to squat 20 reps of my 1 rep max…well done- you are freaking strong!

  2. Amy E. says:

    That WOD is sneaking up on me.

  3. JO says:

    Friends,
    Please consider donating food. No human should go with out a basic need. You would be surprised how many do!

    • Dusti says:

      Jo, do the same reminder on Thursday and I will clean out my food storage before I go on Vacation. The end of the world is coming up and I thought; if I am going to be in Mexico I won’t be needing all of my food storage. I don’t want people to break into my house and steel my supply. I hope that we will survive the end of the world and treck home from mexico. I don’t want my house to be ransacked because people were searching for food. So, I will pack us a little “end of the world’ day pack for our vacation then bring in the rest of my supply. The intent will obviously be for those who need it over the holidays and during the cold winter months, but we ALL know that it will be used to feed the survivors!

Leave a Reply

